Skip to content

Addiction

July 19, 2012

You tell yourself
you can stop
whenever
whatever
it doesn’t matter
it’s not a craving
you can quit
you don’t have
an addiction
Who cares
it’s just a habit
you’ll stop when you want to
because you can
Stop, that is
yeah, so you like it now
but
that doesn’t mean
you’re stuck
You’ll know
one day
when it’s time
You’ll get off
this ride
it’ll be so easy
you’ll just jump
but not today
because you’re still okay
You’ll try it again
Just a few more times
before you let it go away
Tomorrow maybe
just not today
you’ll give it up, they’ll see
no problem at all
It’s okay
you’re fine.

From → Poetry

10 Comments
  1. This is amazing. I am saving this and readig it everyday. Truth be told, I am a recovering alcoholic. I have slip ups every now and then, but I realized I can never just have one drink. One drink turns into ten drinks. Alcoholism runs in my family. I am going to blog about it soon. Once I get the courage to tell the truth.

    Thank you, this will help me to take each day at a time, and whenever I feel like taking a drink, I am going to read this. I am putting your blog on my blogroll on my homepage too.

    Liz

    • Thankyou so much, Liz! I am so glad you connected with this, as this poem means quite a lot to me. It makes me really happy that it had this effect and I wish you well on your journey and I hope my poem helps you in some way. I look forward to reading when you blog about it… Writing can be very liberating!

  2. Addiction is hard, it’s the long and short of it, I struggled with it for years, and to some degree still do. But to get to my main point: this poem is fantastic. As I may have said before on some of your other poems, the way you break the lines works so beautifully, as though each line stands independent but then connects to each other. Very good poem. 🙂 -JSCK

    • You just made my night! I’m glad you liked this poem and that it came across as powerfully as I intended it to. Hope to read more on your blog soon, too. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, JSCK!

  3. Oh yes, this resonates for me too. Not in the same way it would have done 20 years ago when I was in the full grip of my multiple addictions. I’m fortunate; while I would never deny that I still have issues (I chose my username while in a brief relapse to alcohol abuse), I have spent far more of my life clean and sober than I have using. And life is better now.

    But of course, I did not just “get off this ride”. it was not easy; I did not just jump. I jumped again, and again and again. It was hard, hard, hard. It’s still hard, and yet in the last 7 years there have been less than 20 days on which I had a drink, and the other drugs are gone from my life completely. And that is why your poem works, I think. Because it speaks that truth of the addict – we tell lies to ourselves, we tell lies to others. We tell ourselves we are not addicted, we tell others that we don’t have a problem, we lie, and we lie, and we lie.

    It’s only when we start to tell ourselves the truth that we can start telling the truth to others, and it’s only then that we can begin to change. And your poem speaks truth.

    • It certainly isn’t easy, for any kind of addiction! I feel your struggle and I’m glad you’ve managed to get off the ride. It’s a huge thing for anybody to give up something they are addicted to and most try again and again before they manage it… if they ever do!

      Thank you very much for the feedback and for sharing your experiences and insight here… It’s great to hear stories with a positive outcome.

      Take care,

      Sylvie

  4. Wow.. so powerful. I loved it.

  5. Nineteenfifteen permalink

    goodness, I would have some tune of this monologue with myself every single day- this sinks home with me, you’ve managed to really capture something here..and quite well in this case.

    • I think most find that they can relate it to something in their life. I’m glad it resonated with you and thanks so much for your thoughtful comment! 🙂 xo

Tell me something. Your words are interesting.

