Skip to content

Gypsy Girl

July 29, 2012

Skinny legs
and big brown boots
gypsy skirts
swinging in the wind
dancing over water
mud on her knees
lost in herself
her mind on the river
the river on her mind
finding beauty in sadness
and love in the madness
her gifts are better than mine
and her mind is stronger
Her thoughts make her wiser
her movements lither
and she knows
one day
her children will learn
the lessons she has learnt
they will cry
at the sorrow she has seen
and laugh at the wonders
of her life
She has traveled
she has marveled
her eyes have been opened
Gypsy girl
lifting her skirts
and shaking her hair
through the troubles
of her life.

From → Poetry

5 Comments
  1. Oh this one is wonderful. There are one or two lines there I really believe in, and a nice poem to read. By ”one or two” I mean they are so real, and very much what I have experienced in efforts against racism of roma gypsies in Europe.

    • Thank you… I am curious to hear your experiences. You sound well traveled and as if you have many interesting stories to tell!

  2. Welcome to my blog! Thanks for reading my Friday Fictioneers article. I read several of your blog entries and found them to be well written and thoughtful. I will follow your blog and hope you will check out some more of my articles and consider following me as well. Best wishes, beebeesworld

  3. from your poems, we can say that you admire bravery and strength in character. Sometimes, I feel that our writing style is similar..but yours is so well-expressed.. and this is a lovely poem indeed:)

    • You are also well expressed and write very lovely poems! And yes, it is true that I admire strength of character… I’m glad you liked this piece! 🙂

Tell me something. Your words are interesting.

