Skip to content

Shall I Sell My Body For Some Bread?

July 31, 2012

I am full to bursting with this hunger,

My skinny arms can’t hold him anymore,

He tugs softly at my scraggly dress,

The ends are torn, in rips and tatters,

“Mummy, Mummy! I’m so hungry!”

Plaintive whines, barely heard,

My heart too tired to go out to him,

My belly ache too harsh,

And my soul too weary,

Fat men in suits, rolling down the footpath,

Dodging needles and crushing daisies in the cracks.

I drag his tiny body towards my own,

My boy, my love,

His little bones I could easily snap,

Shedding a dry and painful tear,

I have nothing left to give,

Where shall we go from here?

Shall I sell my body for some bread,

When the others are selling it for crack?

We huddle in the darkness,

He shelters in the fading sunshine of my love,

And I squeeze this tiny sack of bones,

For that is all of this boy that is left,

His eyes just empty sockets,

His once lively spirit nearly gone,

Repeating faint pleas and whispers,

Like a broken record in grandpa’s house of the past.

How did we become this way?

While the greedy, metal monsters tower above us,

Laughing at us with their ugly walls and windows,

Parasites swarm and writhe happily through them, oblivious,

And as they walk by, they kick us further into the dust.

From → Poetry

4 Comments
  1. Truly a wonderful poem, Original, creative, and thoughtful…….. and expressive make that impressive!

    • Thank you very much! I appreciate you taking the time to give me feedback. 🙂

  2. Oh this is powerful….! Wonderful use of words to hit hard, and create true, sharp imagery one can almost touch…at last, REAL poetry…not about some lost, folorn love. I could read this again and again and get more each time. Thank you so much.

  3. Thank you for your feedback! I’m really glad it affected you and was so powerful for you…

Tell me something. Your words are interesting.

