Skip to content

I’m Going Home

August 27, 2012

I’ll miss the sunshine,

in the parks,

Lying on the grass,

touching toes,

I’ll miss my bicycle,

blue and rusty,

and riding over cobblestones,

on the streets,

I’ll miss the faces of all,

the people I’ve known,

Their hugs and laughing

and friendly smiles,

The music and the dancing,

and their love to give,

I’ll miss the rain,

how it never stops,

I’ll miss the thunderstorms,

in the summertime,

And I’ll miss the sound

of splashing in the canal,

I’ll miss the sweet smell,

of this city,

The lovers stealing kisses,

down hidden alleyways,

And holding hands with you,

as we ride, side by side,

I’ll miss being away with you.

From → Poetry

12 Comments
  1. Beautifully done.Simple yet fabulous poem.Jalal

  2. What’s simplest is usually the best truth

  3. The simple things we will miss the most. I like the thoughts in the amazing poetry.

  4. This poem takes on more depth and urgency as summer starts to end..it seems to be maturing, like wine, its lovely, and you can feel it now…!

    • Oh yeah, for sure… I was just catching the tail end of summer in Holland, but literally just returned to Australia in time for summer on this side of the world. Yes! I’m sure going to miss Europe, though.
      Thank you for stopping by, Managua! It’s always good to hear from you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Fine mixture of mystery and detail.

Tell me something. Your words are interesting.

